Council and committees

Council, Committees and Office Bearers

SOC Council

Council manages the general affairs of the SOC, and appoints and entrusts committees to deal with the different aspects of the Club’s activities. Council consists of the Office Bearers, Honorary Presidents, a representative from each of the branches, and up to three elected individuals.

Current Council members:

James Main (President)
Jeremy Wilson (Vice President)
David Heeley (Honorary Secretary)
Andrew Thorpe (Honorary Treasurer)
Alison Creamer (Elected member)
Bob McGowan (Elected member)
Chris Wernham (Elected member)
Helen Aiton, David Bain, John Campbell, Lesley Creamer, Iain Gibson, Roger Gooch, Alan Knox, Richard Leslie, Angus McBay, Melvin Morrison, David Rackham, Geoffrey Sheppard, Neil Stratton, Paul Taylor (Branch representatives)
Honorary Presidents: Roy Dennis, Frank Hamilton
Honorary Members: Dougal Andrew, Ian Andrews, Iain Gibson, Mike Harris, Angus Hogg, Andrew Macmillan, Daphne Peirse-Duncombe, Stanley da Prato, Ron Summers, Adam Watson.

Click here to view the 2016/2017 Annual Report

Management Committee

This committee deals with day-to-day issues relating to the Club, and acts as a forum for the discussion of matters, with a view to formulating proposals for discussion at council. Management committee posts are normally for a period of five years.

Current Management Committee members:

James Main (President)
Jeremy Wilson (Vice President)
Mike Martin
David Heeley (Honorary Secretary)© John Busby
Andrew Thorpe (Honorary Treasurer)
Doreen Main
Paul Taylor


Library Committee

The Library Committee is responsible for the management and operation of the George Waterston Library, including the Archive within the Library.

Current Library Committee members:

Alan Knox (Chairman), David Clugston, Lesley Creamer, John Davies, Ian Elfick, Norman Elkins, John Law, Bob McGowan, John Savory. The Librarian also attends Committee meetings.


Publications Committee

This committee manages the Club’s principal publications.

Current committee members:

Ian Andrews (Acting Chair & Co-ordinating Editor, Scottish Birds)
Stan da Prato, Jimmy Maxwell, Harry Scott & Stuart Rivers (Editors, Scottish Birds)
Stephen Hunter, Jane Cleaver (SOC website managers)


Scottish Birds editorial Committee (part of the Publications Committee)

This team puts together the Club’s quarterly journal, Scottish Birds

Current committee members:

Co-ordinating editor: Ian Andrews
Peer-reviewed papers: Dr Stan da Prato
Assisted by: Dr I. Bainbridge, Dr M. Marquiss, Dr C.R. McKay, Dr W.T.S. Miles & R. Swann
Articles, news and views: Jimmy Maxwell, Dr Stuart L. Rivers & Harry Scott


Research and Surveys Committee

The Research and Surveys committee considers research projects for the Club. It also allocates annual Research grants from the SOC Endowment Fund.

Current committee members:

Tom Dougall (Chair)
Mike Bell
Colin Corse
Raymond Duncan
Les Hatton


The Birds of Scotland Fund Committee

This committee receives and assesses applications for funding ornithological publications and special projects in Scotland. It allocates funding from The Birds of Scotland Fund.

Current committee members:

David Jardine (Chair)
Mike Martin
Bob McGowan
Chris McInerny
Paul Taylor


Scottish Birds Records Committee (SBRC)

The rarest species of birds in Scotland are validated by the British Birds Rarities Committee (BBRC), while lesser rarities are delegated to the Scottish Birds Records Committee (SBRC), comprising seven experts drawn from different Scottish regions. This committee also manages the Scottish List for the SOC. One member of the committee retires by rotation each year; the year of retiral is denoted in brackets below.

Current committee members:

Mark Wilkinson (Lothian) (Chair) (2021)
Chris McInerny (Secretary)
John Bowler (Argyll) (2017)
John Nadin (Fife) (2018)
Martin Scott (Western Isles) (2019)
David Parnaby (Shetland) (2020)
David Pullan (Moray & Nairn) (2022)
Mark Warren (Highland) (2023)
Bob McGowan (Museum Consultant)

SBRC Scottish List Subcommittee

Current subcommittee members:

Dave Clugston
Ron Forrester
Angus Hogg
Bob McGowan
Chris McInerny
Roger Riddington


Branch Committees

Visit the local branch pages for branch committee details, including current branch secretaries.